FAQ
What is mailbox delegation?
Similar to having an assistant that helps you manage your incoming paper mail, another person, known as a delegate, can receive and respond to email messages and meeting requests and responses on your behalf. You can also grant the delegate additional permissions to read, create, or change items in your Microsoft Exchange Server mailbox.
Who should use delegation?
This is not generally recommended except for administrative assistants or similar circumstances.
What does Delegate Access do?
Delegate Access goes beyond just sharing access to your folders. Delegates are granted additional permissions, such as creating email messages or responding to meeting requests on your behalf.
Additional details here: Microsoft - What does Delegate Access do?
What permission levels are there?
Reviewer
With this permission, the delegate can read items in your folders.
Author
With this permission, the delegate can read and create items, and change and delete items that he or she creates. For example, a delegate can create task requests and meeting requests directly in your Task or Calendar folder and then send the item on your behalf.
Editor
With this permission, the delegate can do everything that an Author has permission to do and additionally can change and delete the items that you created.
Assign delegate permissions
Granting access
These steps are for granting or giving someone (Delegate) access to your mailbox.
Outlook for Mac
In Outlook, go to the Outlook menu and select Settings.

Click on Accounts (Top Row), click on the account you want to add it to, and then click Delegates & Sharing



Click on the + sign.

Type in a email address to search for the person. Once found, select the desired entry and click Add.

Select desired permission to delegate.

Additional Resources:
- Options for sharing and delegating folders in Outlook for Mac
- Share your calendar in Outlook for Mac
Click OK to complete the process.
Outlook for Windows
There are two options for delegating calendar access. Assign edit permissions only and Assign delegate permissions.
Option 1: Assign edit permissions only:
In new Outlook from the navigation pane, select Calendar. From the Home tab, select Share Calendar.

In the Sharing and permissions page, type the name or email address of the person you want to share your calendar with. Though you can share your calendar with more than one person, you can only add one person at a time.
After you've added the person you want to manage your calendar, select the drop-down list next to their name, and choose the level of access you want them to have.
Select Can edit to give them permission to make changes to your calendar.
- The options Can view when I'm busy, Can view titles and locations, and Can view all details allow others to view your calendar but not make changes to it. Access for people from outside your organization is limited to these options.


Option 2: Assign delegate permissions
Delegates can not only edit your calendar, but they can also schedule and respond to meetings on your behalf.
|

Note
Calendar items marked Private are protected. Most people you share your calendar with see only the time of items marked Private, not the subject, location, or other details. The exception to this is if you select the Let delegate view private events check box.
After you've finished adding the person you want to share your calendar with and have chosen which permission you want to give them, select Share. If you decide not to share your calendar right now, select
Remove.
The person you shared your calendar with will receive an email message telling them about it. When they select the Accept button in the invitation, it will add your calendar to their list of calendars.
After you've given someone delegate access to your calendar, you'll see an additional option in Sharing and permissions that lets you control how meeting requests and responses are processed. If you have multiple delegates, you'll need to do this for each of your delegates.
Under Delegates, next to Send invitations and responses to, select one of the following options:
- Delegate only Meeting requests and responses go only to your delegates.
- Delegate and send me a copy Meeting requests and responses are sent to you and your delegates. Only your delegates see the option to accept or decline a meeting request, and the notification sent to you will appear like a normal email message. You can still respond to the meeting by opening the calendar item and responding.
- Both my delegate and me Meeting requests and responses are sent both to you and your delegates. Either of you can respond to the meeting invitation.
If you decide not to share your calendar with someone, under Delegates select
Remove for the person you no longer want to act as a delegate.
Adding Shared Mailbox (Delegated Mailbox) to Outlook
Accessing shared mailbox
These steps are for accessing a mailbox you have been given permission to (Delegated).
Select Outlook platform\version to continue.
In Outlook, go to the File, Open and Shared Mailbox.

Search for the shared mailbox you are part of (essentially you have permission to add/view). And then Add.

Your Shared Mailbox should appear on the left pane.

In Outlook, Click on the File menu.

Click Account Settings then Account Settings...

Select account to edit and click Change

From Change Account window click More Settings...

Click Advanced tab. Click Add.

Enter email address of mailbox to be delegate for and click OK

Click OK until back to normal Outlook window.
May need to close and re-launch outlook for mailbox to load.
Revoking Delegate
Write your initial question/sentence to troubleshoot
Click on your account (upper left corner) and then click Advanced (lower right corner).

Go to the Delegates section.

- Highlight the name of the delegate you want to remove.
- Select the Remove button (-).
- The name of the delegate is removed from the Delegates screen.
- Select the OK button. The Delegates screen closes.
Next, select Account Settings. A drop-down menu displays.
Select Delegate Access from the drop-down menu. The Delegates screen displays.
- Highlight the name of the delegate you want to remove.
- Select the Remove button. The name of the delegate is removed from the Delegates screen.
- Select the OK button. The Delegates screen closes.

